First try: Zucchini Noodles!!

Standard

After reading a lot about this low-carb and very healthy alternative to spaghetti, I bought a julienne peeler and made my very first serving of zucchini noodles!

In Holland zucchini’s are called Courgette, so my husband immediately came up with the name “Courgetti”, the combo of courgette and spaghetti. Not bad.

Anyway, because my husband and kids are away to the North of the country until friday (!) I have the opportunity to try things.

I lived on juices for almost three days, but yesterday evening it was time for some solid – but healthy – food.

On the internet people say the zucchini noodles taste just like spaghetti. Well, they do!

After I used my new peeler to make the noodles, leaving the core of the zucchini untouched, I cooked the noodles in boiling, salted water for about 3 minutes and I drained them.

Meanwhile I made a sauce of tomato and veggie-meatballs, and put this on top of the noodles. Yum!!

Only thing I didn’t do was press or squeeze out any excess fluid; this is neccesary as it turned out, I had to pour out excess water after plating up the dish.

Anyway, a lowcarb, low calorie alternative to pasta!!

20140218-114735.jpg

Leave a Reply

